Montag, April 14, 2014 / Eingestellt von peter /

Robert Plant-
Pictures at Eleven is the debut solo album by former Led Zeppelin singer Robert Plant, released in 1982. Genesis drummer Phil Collins played drums for six of the album's eight songs. Cozy Powell handled drums on "Slow Dancer" and excelent drums at "Like I've Never Been Gone".

Pictures at Eleven is the only one of Plant's solo albums to appear on Led Zeppelin's record label Swan Song. By the time of Plant's next release, 1983's The Principle of Moments, Swan Song had ceased to function and Plant had started his own label titled Es Paranza, which would also be distributed by Atlantic Records.

Working with Robbie Blunt, Plant is able to build his own unique style with a smooth, crisp vocal performance on many of the tracks of this CD. "Burning Down One Side" starts off the disc and it is the most Zeppelinesque, along with "Slow Dancer", in my mind. Plant pulls on his vocal chords in these tracks with the old Zeppelin sound reminsicent of some of the Physical Graffitti work. Plant and Blunt stand on their own though whith "Moonlight in Samosa" and "Fat Lip" - two songs that flow as though there is no clock in the room.
You can't help but just get caught up in the smoothness of those tracks.
The same can be said of "Far Post" which is a bonus track on the CD. If you loved Zeppelin you can't go wrong with this first Plant solo disc. The only thing I will say is don't expect the Jimmy Page solos because Blunt is a different type of musician but a quality one none the less. Also, the arrangements are similar to Zeppelin but definitely not Zeppelin. Plant has done work following this disc that is good and worthy of excellent review but to me this is his best because he needed to grab people after leaving Zeppelin. He did just that because it proves he is by himself more than just a long-haired god to the ladies - he is what many of us knew all along - a unique voice with a stylistic flair for combining his past to build his future. Mein absoluter Lieblingstitel von Plant LIKE I`VE NEVER BEEN GONE mit Cozy Powell unverkennbar an den Drums :-)


1. "Burning Down One Side" – 3:55
2. "Moonlight in Samosa" – 3:58
3. "Pledge Pin" – 4:01
4. "Slow Dancer" – 7:43
5. "Worse Than Detroit" – 5:55
6. "Fat Lip" – 5:05
 7.Like I've Never Been Gone - 5:56
8. "Mystery Title" – 5:16

• Robert Plant - vocals
• Robbie Blunt - guitars
• Jezz Woodroffe - keyboards & synthesizers
• Phil Collins - drums on 1-3, 5-6, 8, 9 & 10
• Cozy Powell - drums on 4 & 7
• Paul Martinez - bass
• Raphael Ravenscroft - saxophone on 3

Labels: ,