Phil Lynott

Dienstag, April 22, 2014 / Eingestellt von peter / Kommentare (0)

Phil Lynott - Old Town

Labels: ,
Montag, April 14, 2014 / Eingestellt von peter / Kommentare (0)

Robert Plant-
Pictures at Eleven is the debut solo album by former Led Zeppelin singer Robert Plant, released in 1982. Genesis drummer Phil Collins played drums for six of the album's eight songs. Cozy Powell handled drums on "Slow Dancer" and excelent drums at "Like I've Never Been Gone".

Pictures at Eleven is the only one of Plant's solo albums to appear on Led Zeppelin's record label Swan Song. By the time of Plant's next release, 1983's The Principle of Moments, Swan Song had ceased to function and Plant had started his own label titled Es Paranza, which would also be distributed by Atlantic Records.

Working with Robbie Blunt, Plant is able to build his own unique style with a smooth, crisp vocal performance on many of the tracks of this CD. "Burning Down One Side" starts off the disc and it is the most Zeppelinesque, along with "Slow Dancer", in my mind. Plant pulls on his vocal chords in these tracks with the old Zeppelin sound reminsicent of some of the Physical Graffitti work. Plant and Blunt stand on their own though whith "Moonlight in Samosa" and "Fat Lip" - two songs that flow as though there is no clock in the room.
You can't help but just get caught up in the smoothness of those tracks.
The same can be said of "Far Post" which is a bonus track on the CD. If you loved Zeppelin you can't go wrong with this first Plant solo disc. The only thing I will say is don't expect the Jimmy Page solos because Blunt is a different type of musician but a quality one none the less. Also, the arrangements are similar to Zeppelin but definitely not Zeppelin. Plant has done work following this disc that is good and worthy of excellent review but to me this is his best because he needed to grab people after leaving Zeppelin. He did just that because it proves he is by himself more than just a long-haired god to the ladies - he is what many of us knew all along - a unique voice with a stylistic flair for combining his past to build his future. Mein absoluter Lieblingstitel von Plant LIKE I`VE NEVER BEEN GONE mit Cozy Powell unverkennbar an den Drums :-)


1. "Burning Down One Side" – 3:55
2. "Moonlight in Samosa" – 3:58
3. "Pledge Pin" – 4:01
4. "Slow Dancer" – 7:43
5. "Worse Than Detroit" – 5:55
6. "Fat Lip" – 5:05
 7.Like I've Never Been Gone - 5:56
8. "Mystery Title" – 5:16

• Robert Plant - vocals
• Robbie Blunt - guitars
• Jezz Woodroffe - keyboards & synthesizers
• Phil Collins - drums on 1-3, 5-6, 8, 9 & 10
• Cozy Powell - drums on 4 & 7
• Paul Martinez - bass
• Raphael Ravenscroft - saxophone on 3

Labels: ,
Donnerstag, April 03, 2014 / Eingestellt von peter / Kommentare (0)

Foreigner - 4 (1981)
Es gibt Alben, da stimmt einfach alles. Die "4" von 1981 ist so eins. Die Kompositionen sind auf hohem Niveau, die Musiker sind überdurchschnittlich gut und Lou Gramm ist ein super Sänger. Alle, die melodischen Hard Rock auch mal mit Pop gewürzt lieben, sollten hier zugreifen.

Das Album bietet die gesamte musikalische Spannbreite der Gruppe um Mick Jones. `Night life` und besonders `Juke box hero` sind tolle Hard Rock Songs. `Waiting for a girl like you` ist eine wunderbare Ballade und `Urgent` ist ein Schmachtfetzen bei dem sich Lou Gramm die Seele aus dem Leib singt.
Weitere Höhepunkte sind `Break it up`, `I`m gonna win`, `Woman in black` und `Girl on the moon`. Alle genannten Songs gehören zu den besten der Gruppe überhaupt.

Das Album und die Singles waren sehr erfolgreich. 6 Sterne sind mehr als verdient. Diese Qualität erreichte die Gruppe leider nie wieder.
Over the course of their first three late-'70s albums, Foreigner had firmly established themselves (along with Journeyand Styx) as one of the top AOR bands of the era. But the band was still looking for that grand slam of a record that would push them to the very top of the heap. Released in 1981, 4 would be that album. In producer Robert John "Mutt" Lange -- fresh off his massive success with AC/DC's Back in Black -- guitarist and all-around mastermindMick Jones found both the catalyst to achieve this and his perfect musical soulmate. Lange's legendary obsessive attention to detail and Jones' highly disciplined guitar heroics (which he never allowed to get in the way of a great song) resulted in a collaboration of unprecedented, sparkling efficiency where not a single note is wasted. "Nightlife" is only the first in a series ("Woman in Black," "Don't Let Go," the '50s-tinged "Luanne") of energetic, nearly flawless melodic rockers, and with "Juke Box Hero," the band somehow managed to create both a mainstream hit single and a highly unique-sounding track, alternating heavy metal guitar riffing, chorused vocals, and one of the ultimate "wanna be a rock star" lyrics.
As for the mandatory power ballad, the band also reached unparalleled heights with "Waiting for a Girl Like You." One of the decade's most successful cross-genre tearjerkers, it has since become a staple of soft rock radio and completely eclipsed the album's other very lovely ballad, "Girl on the Moon," in the process. And last but not least, the surprisingly funky "Urgent" proved to be one of the band's most memorable and uncharacteristic smash hits, thanks to Junior Walker's signature saxophone solo. Through it all, vocalist Lou Gramm does his part, delivering a dazzling performance that confirmed his status as one of the finest voices of his generation. Three years later,Foreigner would achieve even greater success on a pop level with the uneven Agent Provocateur, but by thenJones and Gramm were locked in an escalating war of egos that would soon lead to the band's demise. All things considered, 4 remains Foreigner's career peak.

1 Juke Box Hero
2 Night life
3 Break it up
4 Waiting for a girl like you
5 Urgent
6 Girl on the moon
7 Woman in black
8 Luanne
9 Don't let go
10 I'm gonna win

Dennis Elliott - drums, Vocals, background vocals
Lou Gramm - Lead vocals, percussion
Mick Jones - guitar, keyboard, vocals, background vocals
Rick Wills - bass, background vocals

Labels: ,